Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Kamchatka: Long Road Made Of Gold

Album number six from Swedish '70s styled hard rockers Kamchatka will hopefully be the one to push this band over the hump towards more universal discovery. Long Road Made of Gold is that good folks, chock full of catchy tunes bristling with energy, bluesy hard rock riffs & guitar solos, driving rhythms, and most importantly powerful vocals that deliver those memorable melodies. Though a band like Rival Sons are garnering most of the attention these days as THE '70s styled hard rock group that the masses need to hear, it's acts like Kamchatka who have been also simmering under the surface for a few years and are ready to take that next step.

"Take Me Back Home", "Get Your Game On", and "Made of Gold" remind us all why we love the heavy rock music of the '70s so much. Each one instantly memorable, great guitar work, hook laden vocal passages, and that special 'vibe' that you just can't get enough of. Love Grand Funk Railroad, Free, Bad Company, Led Zeppelin, Humble Pie, Black Country Communion, Trapeze, or Cactus? Well, then wait till you get a load of the gyrating heavy grooves of "Human Dynamo" or the terrific riff machine that is "Who's to Blame" to see how well this band can create similar type magic. "Mirrow" even throws in a neat ode to Blue Oyster Cult on the main riff, while "Slowly Drifting Away" combines heavy blues with Black Sabbath styled crushing doom, the guitar work of Thomas 'Juneor' Andersson working overtime to deliver the goods. If your tastes run towards more of the straight blues, there's "Long Road", and "To You" is just a good time old fashioned rock 'n' roll tune with a great hook and effective riffs.

Long Road Made of Gold is lots of fun from start to finish, fueled by great songwriting, killer guitar work, powerful vocals, driving rhythms, and an infectious vibe that is hard to ignore. Let's hope Kamchatka get the big break they deserve after the world hears this one.

See more about this release on our recent YouTube show!

Track Listing
01. Take Me Back Home
02. Get Your Game On
03. Made Of Gold
04. Human Dynamo
05. Rain
06. Who´s To Blame
07. Mirror
08. Slowly Drifting Away
09. Long Road
10. To You
11. No One That Can Tell
12. Devil Dance

Added: May 16th 2015
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Band Website
Hits: 1932
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

© 2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content © Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by