Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Third Ion: 13/8Bit

Third Ion a band consisting of members of the Devin Townsend Band and Into Eternity and 13/8Bit is the result of a mutual love of prog, video games, and science. The debut album contains eight songs, including the title track which is, as you might have already guessed, written entirely in 13/8 time signature.

Third Ion is; Justin Bender- guitar, Aaron Edgar drums, Mike Young bass, Tyler Gilbert vocals and the project has been gestating since roughly mid-2010 when Justin bender met Aaron Edgar. Lyrical concerns veers from physics to metalphysics and the band, " fully embraces technology in the writing and recording of their sound, while maintain and nourishing an organic aspect." There is plenty of interesting music within the grooves of this album and even lobs in some grungey elements in places ("Time Lapse Beta") but it's the videogame motifs which put me right off. This may well be because I've never played one in my life but without the squeaky flourishes this would have been a much more palatable effort for me.

Track Listing:
1. 13/8 Bit (4:23)
2. Capitol Spill (5:34)
3. Zero Mass (4:23)
4. Collapse (6:27)
5. Particle Replacement Mechanism (7:10)
6. The Kineticist (6:15)
7. Time Lapse Beta (13:42)
8. Van hAlien (6:57)

Added: May 6th 2015
Reviewer: Simon Bray
Related Link: Band Facebook Page
Hits: 1811
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by