Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Deivos: Theodicy

Polish death metal juggernaut Deivos now find themselves on Selfmadegod Records for their latest release Theodicy, a six-song affair that sees the quartet doing what they do best, and that is delivering punishing extreme metal housed in epic arrangements. We aren't talking about breaking new ground or reinventing the wheel here, but Theodicy certainly pushes all the right buttons, with the title track and "El Shaddaj" featuring some absolutely crushing riffs and monolithic growls courtesy of Angelfuck, while the acrobatic, chugging "Ochlocracy" ups the speed quotient thanks to some blazing blast beats and plenty of tumultuous riffing. "Amor Sui" fluctuates between more mid-paced arrangements to shredding guitar solos and even violent blasting, while the brief "Parasite" shows that the band can even throw in some wild tech-death too when needed.

Like I mentioned above, perhaps not the most original album you'll hear this year, but if you love Morbid Angel, Behemoth, and Suffocation, chances are you'll find plenty to enjoy on Theodicy. Four albums in and Deivos are showing what a consistent band they are, and no doubt will continue to be.

Track Listing
1. Theodicy
2. El Shaddai
3. Ochlocracy
4. Mandatory Mayhem
5. Amor Sui
6. Parasite

Added: May 1st 2015
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Band Facebook Page
Hits: 1875
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by