Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Ovid's Withering: Scryers Of The Ibis

In case you missed their independently released 2013 offering the first time around, Unique Leader are pleased to present to you the reissue of Scryers of the Ibis from technical, symphonic, blackened death metal act Ovid's Withering. These Floridians certainly have a flair for the dramatic, their brutal & crushing brand of extreme metal being drenched in orchestral keyboards and electronic embellishments, while the lyrical aspect of the album is steeped in Greek mythology. Sounds like a winning combination right? Well, it pretty much is across the board, especially considering the technical precision of the instrumentation, which is quite good. Blazing, intricate guitar lines criss cross over massive riffs and gorgeous keyboard tapestries on "Oedipus Complex", while the varied vocal attack of JJ "Shiv" Polachek is all over the place on brutal yet orchestral fare such as "Murder to Dissect" and "Exile". Deep death metal growls, hellish black metal screams, the occasional clean passage, and a more deathcore/metalcore bellow make up the majority of his arsenal; the first two are actually the most enjoyable, and it's when he dips into the more modern extreme metal leanings that Scryers of the Ibis tends to lean towards a somewhat generic identity. That's a real shame as I think Ovid's Withering really have what it takes to be something very special on the extreme metal scene, and perhaps they need to try and stop being a band for everyone and really concentrate on what they do best. That is clearly being a brutal, technical, and adventurous band who combines the best of death & black metal, surrounded by complex arrangements and symphonic orchestrations with thought provoking lyrics. The world doesn't really need another deathcore band who sounds like everyone else, and I truly believe this band has much more to offer, based on the majority of what's on display here. Let's see what they have up their sleeves could be epic!

Track Listing
1. Earthshaker I 05:42
2. Earthshaker II 03:51
3. Oedipus Complex 06:08
4. Murder to Dissect 07:42
5. Exile 06:30
6. Winter in Tomis 05:39
7. Acheron 06:14
8. The Omen of Lycaon 06:13
9. The God of Shepherds and Flocks 02:11
10. Falsehood of Blasphemous Voices 07:00
11. The Reckoning. The Summoning. The Purge. 08:05
12. Panikon Deima 07:25

Added: May 1st 2015
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Band Facebook Page
Hits: 1536
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by