Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Majestic: Instrumentals Collection

If you are at all familiar with my reviews you might know I am a big fan of Jeff Hamel and his Majestic project which formed in 2006. Based out of Minnesota, the project has churned out some great albums, most recently the Epsilon releases with both earning spots on my best of the year list for 2014.

The new release, Instrumentals Collection, is exactly how it sounds; selected instrumentals from four of his albums. Two of these albums, V.O.Z. and Ataraxia are missing from my collection so it was nice to hear some new tunnage.

The music of Majestic covers a variety of progressive sub genres like space, psychedelic, neo, heavy prog and symphonic rock, often with a retro feel. Hamel is an accomplished musician and on this collection of songs he adds guitar and keyboards. Joining Jeff are:

Mike Kosacek drums
John Wooten drums (tracks 2,6)
Celine Derval - vocals (track 5)
Jessica Rasche vocals (track 6)

These are ten finely crafted tunes beginning with "Spirits Dwell" and its Floyd-like underpinnings of guitar and spacey keys. When the guitar gets heavier it brings back a hard rock '70s vibe. The melodic "Dance of the Elders" is filled with dreamy keyboard textures and soaring guitar but also delves into some heavier riffage and a big orchestral sound with violin synths leading the way.

One of my favourite tracks is the intricate "The Journey Back" taken from his latest disc Epsilon 2. The drumming of Kosacek is quite impressive. That said, there is not a skippable track in the bunch.

For those of you who are new to Majestic this would certainly be a worthwhile listen. You can even download it for free on Majestic's website. If you like what you're hearing may I suggest you purchase an album from their back catalogue. After all, there are eight studio albums to choose and I haven't heard a bad one yet.

Track Listing:
1. Spirits Dwell (8:16)
2. Dance of the Elders (8:24)
3. The Journey Back (6:07)
4. Modus Operandi 7 (7:17)
5. Becoming (Reprise) (6:43)
6. Astral Dream (7:32)
7. Rise to the Surface (6:10)
8. Skies Clear (3:30)
9. Doorways (7:46)
10. Hyperbole (9:14)

Added: April 25th 2015
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Artist's Official Site
Hits: 1612
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by