Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Peterik/ Scherer: Risk Everything

Peterik/ Scherer combine a familiar name and one new to the fray. Jim Peterik was a founding member of 80s melodic rock kings Survivor, wrote "Vehicle" for Ides of March (with whom he has performed for half a century) and he's also the man behind World Stage and the staggeringly splendid Pride of Lions alongside the supremely talented Toby Hitchcock. Marc Scherer, on the other hand is a totally new name to most, including myself but according to Peterik, ""When I heard Marc's amazing voice pouring though my studio door, I could not believe my ears." He goes on to say, "Truly one of the best voices I've heard- and I've worked with the best!" Indeed, having worked with so many great vocalists but especially the late, much-missed Jimi Jamison, Peterik would know his onions.

I have to say that for quite a while I missed Toby Hitchcock as in many ways this is a very much a Pride of Lions album without his input. The other key thing which makes it not a PoL record is that there are, pleasingly, no lead Peterik vocals. However, there are, as one would expect a ton of hugely uplifting melodic rock tunes from Peterik's irrepressible positive mindset. As Frontiers Record's PR suggests, this album is very much (once you get used to the lack of Hitchcock,)" the perfect vehicle for Marc's 5-octave range a voice of such astonishing clarity and strength that it is hard to believe he isn't already a major star."

It's difficult to pick out the best songs on a tremendous album but the title track is wonderful, just what melodic rock should be; soaring, life-affirming and stupidly catchy just like the equally excellent "Brand New Heart". However, I'm going to choose "Broken Home" as the key track on Risk Everything. It's more introspective than everything else on the record and it's the one where Marc Scherer's voice really, really comes to the fore and his phrasing is perfect throughout especially at the very end. I can barely recommend this album highly enough.

Track Listing:
  1. Risk Everything
  2. Chance of a Lifetime
  3. Cold Blooded
  4. Desperate In Love
  5. Thee Crescendo
  6. The Dying Of the Light
  7. How Long Is a Moment
  8. Brand New Heart
  9. Broken Home
  10. Milestones
  11. Independence Day

Added: April 21st 2015
Reviewer: Simon Bray
Related Link: Band @ Frontiers Records
Hits: 2390
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by