Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Dirtswitch: Phoenix Down

First off, my apologies to the band for taking so long for this review to see the light of day.

Dirtswitch is a post-grunge band based out of Naklo, Slovenia. Phoenix Down is their debut album and was released in 2011.

In the band are Rok Seifert (bass guitars), Luka Lamut (vocals), Jani Nendl (guitars, backing vocals) and Uros Markic (drums).

If you are into bands like Soundgarden, Audioslave and Alice in Chains Phoenix Down should be an album for you. The songs are standard verse, chorus, verse structure but the riffs are catchy and the lead vocals are quite powerful. The bluesy hard rock riffs of the opening track "Restraints" is a prime example. The album is pretty heavy but the band do a nice job of lightening the load with a couple of poignant power ballads "Innocence" and "Today". Other highlights include the ultra-catchy riffage in "Forever" and the pummeling rhythms in the heavy "Overhang".

Phoenix Down is nothing earth shattering but a nice enough album just the same. A respectable three stars it is.

Track Listing:
1. Restraints
2. Too Much
3. Sulfur
4. Another Breath
5. Looking Back
6. Comatose
7. Over & Over
8. Innocence
9. My Story
10. Overhang
11. Forever
12. Today

Added: April 13th 2015
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Band's Official Site
Hits: 1003
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by