Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Stout, Kevin & Brian Booth: Color Country

Color Country is the latest disc from American jazz players Brian Booth and Kevin Stout. This is the duo's fourth collaboration and by all accounts this is an excellent slice of melodic jazz.

The players are:

Brian Booth (saxophone, flutes)
Kevin Stout (trombone, guitar, percussion)
Joey Singer (piano)
Tom Warrington (bass)
John Abraham (drums)
JoBelle Yonely (vocals) Stout and Booth have created some highly listenable jazz while still including stellar musicianship and fine solos by all involved. Though the sax and trombone are ever present the tandem ensure each musician is integral to the whole, making for a cohesive and smartly executed jazz album.

All the tracks were inspired and named after an area of Arizona referred to as 'Color Country' which contains five of that Nation's National Parks. Like the beautiful painting adorning the front cover, the music contained within is vibrant and colourful.

The first track "Panorama Point" is chalk full of catchy jazz with fine solos of sax, trombone and piano. In "Aquarius Plateau" a world music beat leads to spry sax and trombone accented with lovely piano. The ensuing bass solo is very good. The solo laden "Double Arch" is another fine piece demonstrating how each musician is vital to the band's sound. The title track has a samba vibe with Yonely's infectious backing vocals. The music slows down for the gentle ballad "Weeping Rock" showcasing Abraham's subtle brush strokes and a gorgeous piano solo from Singer. The energy returns in the Coltrane influenced "Grand Staircase" with vibrant sax and trombone trading solos. The rest of the songs are just as enjoyable.

Color Country is a fine jazz CD made by six musicians clearly comfortable playing together. If you like melodic jazz highlighted with sax, trombone and piano this one should be worthy of your attention.

Track Listing:
1. Panorama Point (4:55)
2. Aquarius Plateau (4:47)
3. Double Arch (7:08)
4. Color Country (5:16)
5. Weeping Rock (5:11)
6. Grand Staircase (5:16)
7. Hoodoo Voodoo (7:40)
8. Anne of Coral Canyon (7:23)
9. Petroglyphs (5:15)
10. Confluence (6:16)
11. San Rafael Swell (5:41)
12. Cataract Canyon (5:13)
13. San Rafael Swell Reprise (1:12)

Added: April 13th 2015
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Label's Official Site
Hits: 1887
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by