Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Comnes, Lucia: Love, Hope & Tyranny

Love, Hope & Tyranny is the fourth CD from San Francisco born Lucia Comnes, specializing in folk rock, Celtic and Americana styles. She is a pretty talented musician with a good voice, ideally suited for her folk rock roots. Besides Comnes, the core of the band is Gawain Mathews (acoustic and electric guitars, dobro, pedal steel, bass, piano, Hammond B3, mandolin, banjo, mandola, percussion, harmony vocals, programming) and Kyle Caprista (drums, percussion, congas, harmony vocals). She also has a number of guests providing harmony vocals and various instruments.

The album opening "No Hiding Place" will give you a good idea of what this disc is all about. A mid-tempo Americana tinged number with Comnes' violin and almost bluesy lead vocals. "Burning Eden" has a more sorrowful vibe with the vocals subtly reminding me of Fleetwood Mac while "Lie With You Tonight" is a tender ballad highlighted with country flavoured lap steel guitar. Similarly, "Through The Dark" is another slightly sorrowful ballad with nice violin and atmospheric guitar stylings. Next up is the mellow "Give In To Grace", perhaps the prettiest tune here. The violin and fiddle adds a mournful tone. The mood picks up with the bluegrass inspired "There Must Be A Reason" and the Celtic influenced "If You Knew How Much I Love You" featuring moody guitar work and Comnes' flawless lead vocals.

While Love, Hope & Tyranny didn't blow me away it is easy music to listen to with solid playing and led by Comnes' excellent lead vocals. Fans of folk, country or bluegrass will probably want to check it out.

Track Listing:
1. No Hiding Place (4:12)
2. Burning Eden (3:51)
3. Lie With You Tonight (2:58)
4. Through The Dark (3:45)
5. Give In To Grace (3:20)
6. There Must Be A Reason (3:32)
7. If You Knew How Much I Love You (3:40)
8. How The Moon Made Me (3:47)
9. End Of The Line (3:44)
10. The Day Love Dies (3:04)
11. Look Again (3:44)
12. Because They Never Do (3:57)
13. Will You Miss Me When I'm Gone (2:28)

Added: April 13th 2015
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Artist's Official Site
Hits: 1384
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by