Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Destructo Swarmbots: The Mountain EP

Not only was The Mountain EP created by a band with perhaps the most bizarre name on the planet, but when you open up the CD jewel case and you see the tiny little 3" CD sitting in the tray, it's icing on the cake. Well, that is until you actually play the thing. Destructo Swarmbots is Mike Mare and James O'Brian, who create noise with their guitar and bass that make Robert Fripp's Frippertronic soundscapes seem like a lush classical symphony. What these two come up with is ominous and eerie, like a dark cloud filled with horrific ghosts of the dead, or a nightmare journey into space. Think Tangerine Dream's Zeit for a good point of reference, especially on the tune "Holy Innocents."

While there are moments of sonic dissonance and truly creepy atmosphere, this 3-song EP is just too short and fleeting to begin to pick up any steam. Let's get a full release of stuff like this and maybe we will be on to something.

Track List
1) 36 Beautiful Songs
2) Saving Grace on an 8 Hour Connection
3) Holy Innocents

Added: October 4th 2004
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Official Website
Hits: 2358
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by