Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Lowe, Aubrey Aiki Robert & Kalma, Ariel: We Know Each Other Somehow

The latest release, under their FRKWYS series, from Brooklyn based label RVNG Intl, finds two synth pioneers from different generations coming together to create an album of stunningly brilliant and refreshing electronic music. The aim of the FRKWYS series is in the words of the label "to celebrate intergenerational collaboration", so what better way to satisfy this aim than by having Robert Aiki Aubrey Lowe and Ariel Kalma fuse their collective heads and sounds together.

Lowe has been a member of 90 Day Men and currently records his own vocal and modular synth compositions under the moniker of Lichens. He has also frequently collaborated with Nurse With Wound and doom / stoner outfit OM. The French born Kalma, now based in Australia, who in the 70's worked as a studio tech in France under the legendary Groupe de Recherches Musicales moniker, has been recording and releasing his own music in various different countries over the course of his four plus decade career in music.

What you get here on this splendid offering is almost seventy five minutes of hypnotic, cosmic, electronic bliss. Although these compositions are separated into seven tracks, there is a wonderfully cohesive feel permeating throughout, as each song seamlessly melts into the next with minimal disruption. While there isn't an ounce of filler to be found here and not a note is wasted, the most satisfying part of this journey lies within the longer form compositions, allowing the duo the time and space to gradually and subtly layer their textured sounds into place. Tracks like "Magick Creek", "Wasp Happening" and "Miracle Mile" are testaments to what these two seasoned musicians do best. The synergistic combination of the naturals sounds of bubbling brooks, chirping birds, together with Lowe's rich, sustained synth landscapes and Kalma's droning didgeridoo and sweeping reed work, creates a thoroughly hypnotic and meditative listening experience that is unlike anything you've heard before.

As if the music contained on this wonderful collaboration wasn't enough reason to celebrate, the physical edition of this release contains a bonus DVD entitled Sunshine Soup. This is a totally tripped out look behind the scenes of the duo at work and play, in the natural element around Kalma's home in the lush landscape of the Australian outback.

We Know Each Other is a truly magical journey that will captivate the listener from beginning to end and one can only hope the duo decides to collaborate again sometime in the near future.

Track Listing
1) Magick Creek
2) Mille Voix
3) Gongmo Kalma Lowe
4) Strange Dreams
5) Wasp Happening
6) Miracle Mile
7) Palo Alter Reality (Bonus Track)

Added: April 9th 2015
Reviewer: Ryan Sparks
Related Link: RVNG Intl.
Hits: 1947
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by