Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Impalers: God From the Machine

God From the Machine is the latest release from Danish thrash act Impalers, a band that's studied hard both the German & Bay Area scenes from the '80s and housed those influences in a perfectly modern sounding heavy metal album. Fans of Destruction, Kreator, Sodom, Exodus, Metallica, Megadeth, and Testament will certainly find plenty to love here on God From the Machine, as the breakneck rhythms, non-stop riffing, blazing lead solos, and gruff vocals are a nice throwback to a classic era. Vocalist/guitarist Seren Crawack bridges the gap between aggressive thrash screams and the more growling style of death & black metal, and it fits these speedy, violent songs just fine. "Future Void" and the title track just pummel with speed metal intensity, while "Prepare for War" settles down with more mid-tempo grooves & constant riffing. "Beyond Trinity" is this bands "Fade to Black", a tune that starts out with lilting guitar chords and melodic vocals before the thunder sets in and builds towards a piledriver thrash climax. German style manic thrash can be heard on the blistering cuts "Destroy the Meek" and "Ghost", while the bands more melodic & progressive side comes out on the 8+ minute "The Walls of Eryx", an instrumental that again reminds of vintage Metallica. The album closes with two violent mashers, "I Am Revolution" and the insane "The Valturine", each one jam packed with manic riffing from Crawack & Thomas Carnell and incessant drum work courtesy of Rasmus Kjaer.

Though perhaps not the most original thrash album ever made, there's no denying the fact that God From the Machine quite simply kicks ass from start to finish, which is all any genre fan is looking for. The digipack cover art by Par Olofsson, who has contributed art for Exodis, Immortal, Job For a Cowboy, and many others, is well done as well and just screams 'heavy metal'. Solid stuff all around.

See more about this release on our recent YouTube show!

Track Listing
1. Future Void 04:48
2. God from the Machine 04:24
3. Prepare for War 04:15
4. Beyond Trinity 06:28
5. Destroy the Meek 05:01
6. Ghost 03:21
7. The Walls of Eryx 08:18
8. I Am Revolution 05:39
9. The Vulturine 04:25

Added: April 3rd 2015
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Band Facebook Page
Hits: 2157
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by