Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Dark Sarah: Behind The Black Veil

Behind The Black Veil is the new album on Inner Wound Recordings from Dark Sarah who is in fact Heidi Parviainen (ex Amberian Dawn). The album features guest appearances from other name vocalists such as Manuela Kraller (ex Xandria), Inga Scharf (Van Canto) and Tony Kakko (Sonata Arctica.) Inner Wound are touting the record as Cinematic/Symphonic metal which may well make the casual reader leap straight towards Rhapsody (of Fire) levels of over-the-topness and cheese but fear not, Behind The Black Veil is in an much different, nay darker paradigm.

There is a concept lurking in the background namely that the main character Sarah, a young woman is left at the altar by her husband. When she is on the verge of breaking down, something wakes up inside of her and she changes into another person; her meaner half, Dark Sarah. She then vacillates between the two differing sides of her personality mainly within the songs sung by the aforementioned guest vocalists.

It's a brave move to start the album with "Save Me" which is by no means the most immediate track, however, the song flows beautifully and gives Heidi Parviainen the chance to introduce us to both her lovely voice and the narrative which will flow through the album. Beyond Parviainen the key players are Erkka Korhonen and Sami Salonen who play tasteful guitar all over the album and never succumb to the need to overplay as is often the case on albums such as this. Nowhere is this more evident than on the particularly strong "Memories Fall" and "Evil Roots". Following these two with the particularly cinematic (especially at the beginning) "Violent Roses" makes the mid-section very attractive indeed and that's before Tony Kakko makes his bow on the soon to be released as a video "Light In You". Throw in a fabulous orchestral version of "Memories Fall" and this is very pleasing album indeed.

Track Listing:
1 Save Me 4:23
2 Poison Apple 4:17
3 Hide And Seek 5:13
4 Memories Fall [feat. Manuela Kraller] 4:24
5 Evil Roots [feat. Inga Scharf] 4:29
6 Violent Roses 5:03
7 Hunting The Dreamer 5:32
8 Fortress 5:35
9 Silver Tree 4:45
10 Sun, Moon And Stars 4:13
11 Light In You [feat. Tony Kakko] 3:58
12 Sarah's Theme 2:35
13 Memories Fall [orchestral version] 4:24
14 A Grim Christmas Story

Added: April 2nd 2015
Reviewer: Simon Bray
Related Link: Band Website
Hits: 1452
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by