Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Pyramaze: Disciples of the Sun

Pyramaze released three excellent metal albums Melancholy Beast and Legend Of the Bone Carver with Lance King (Ilium,Balance Of Power) on vocals and Immortal in 2008 with Mat Barlow (ex. Iced Earth) then that was it, or so it seemed. As it would appear that Pyramaze were not all over, and have now resurfaced in 2015 with a new album Disciples Of The Sun.

Band founder and guitarist Michael Kammeyer is no longer a part of Pyramaze with drummer Morten Gade Sørensen and keyboardist Jonah W. being the sole original members, along with guitarist Toke Skøjnnemand who first appeared on Legend of the Bone Carver. Lead vocalist Terje Harøy (Teodor Tuff) and guitarist Jacob Hansen (Invocator, Anubis Gate, Beyond Twilight) now complete the line-up. You would expect some chance in sound and that there is, this is still Pyramaze with some modern touches, and the quality of their songs sure hasn't diminished.

I discovered Pyramaze back when their debut was released, and was immediately taken in by their sound as this was a band that had something different, something that was very appealing. And just like those prior releases Pyramzes's new power/progressive metal album is powerful, melodic and sure to be a hit with the fans, Disciples Of The Sun is the kind of engaging album that gels instantly with no need for multiple spins. The time between albums and line-up changes hasn't been detrimental at all, Pyramaze sound as strong as ever and vocalist Terje Harøy is a great addition like his Pyramaze band mates they continue to deliver the quality we have enjoyed in the past with a healthy mix of guitars and keyboards. Besides those imposing performances Disciples Of The Sun works so well due to the variety on offer the songs don't just blend into each, and sure Pyrazmaze aren't the only group to combine power and progressive metal but they are one of the best. Wonderful tracks such as "Back For More", "Genetic Process", "Fearless" and "Perfectly Imperfect" are proof of that and there's plenty more on Disciples Of The Sun.

You simply can't go wrong with Pyramaze's stellar new release Disciples Of The Sun, and just like the lyrics on "Back For More" I'm sure "you'll keep coming back for more".

Track listing
1. We Are The Ocean
2. The Battle Of Paridas
3. Disciples Of The Sun
4. Back For More
5. Genetic Process
6. Fearless
7. Perfectly Imperfect
8. Unveil
9. Hope Springs Eternal
10. Exposure
11. When Black Turns To White
12. Photograph

Added: March 27th 2015
Reviewer: Scott Jessup
Related Link: Band Website
Hits: 3229
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

» Reader Comments:

Pyramaze: Disciples of the Sun
Posted by rafael alves on 2015-04-04 07:25:21
My Score:

Puts parabéns 😤 vou comprar o cd....vlw

© 2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content © Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by