Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Psycrotpic: Psycroptic

Still performing their demolishing metal the technical death/extreme heavyweights Psycroptic return with a new self-titled album. Psycroptic is their first release with Prosthetic records and one that may catch some fans off guard, especially those who are not so willing to accept change or have a preference for early Psycrotpic. Their last studio album The Inherited Repression was such an outstanding release, and the Aussie band continues to evolve and while they do retain so much of that established Psycrotpic sound including the complexity this album isn't just more of the same. There are so many tempting surprises and that added heavy groove makes Psycroptic quite catchy for a release that still presents such an intense component. Actually this is Psycroptic's most accessible hook filled album to date and the most diverse, that mind bending technical wizardry still has a place and the band sounds so in synch with each other.

Psycroptic are such accomplished players as they have continually shown us since those early days with their debut The Isle Of Disenchantment. The input from the three original members, that is the Haley brothers drummer Dave and guitarist Joe and bass player Cameron Grant on Psycroptic and tracks like "Ideals That Won't Surrender" just reinforces that fact, and the somewhat unique vocal aggression of Jason Peppiatt is quite varied and cleverly applied. Psycroptic eases into "Echoes To Come" though you don't have to wait for long as their metal erupts and it's game on. "Ending" features more of the insanely fast pedal work from Dave Haley, and Joe Haley delivers the varied hooks with his masterful intricate guitar performance, "Cold" is another of the many super cool tracks where Joe and his band mates totally nail it.

Studio release number six Psycroptic doesn't outstay it's welcome at all, as the nine tracks fly by and you promptly go back for a re-run. This is another compelling Psycroptic release, and I can't get enough of those killer tracks such as "A Soul Once Lost".

Track listing
1. Echoes to Come
2. Ending
3. A Soul Once Lost
4. Cold
5. Setting the Skies Ablaze
6. Ideals That Won't Surrender
7. Sentence of Immortality
8. The World Discarded
9. Endless Wandering

Added: March 20th 2015
Reviewer: Scott Jessup
Related Link: Facebook Page
Hits: 1921
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by