Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Matuchniak, Peter: Destiny

British born Peter Matuchniak has been around for decades. I first became aware of the name as being attached to the progressive rock bands Evolve IV and Gekko Projekt, as he is a major part of both. In 2012 he released his first solo album Uncover Me which I thought was excellent. His latest effort Destiny came out late 2014.

The core of the band is:

Peter Matuchniak (guitars, vocals), Steve Bonino (bass, vocals), Scott Connor (drums, vocals) and Paul Mouradjian (keyboards).

Let's be clear, if you are looking for a full out progressive rock album you might as well stop reading now. If, however, you are searching for melodic and sophisticated rock/pop music with jazzy and progressive undertones, you just might get a lot of mileage out of this one.

The title track gets things underway with drifting washes of keys and Matuchniak's understated vocal delivery. The lush background harmonies are a highlight as they are in most of the tracks. Matuchniak's guitar solo goes for feel rather than show-off pyrotechnics.

"Product" starts with a slow tempo with talking vox and biting guitar leads, eventually adding jazzy piano and funkier grooves. Some might even call this adult contemporary rock but do not let that scare you, this is still refined enough to have some crossover appeal amongst prog fans.

"Spies" features the old school jazz vocals of Natalie Azerad to go along with clarinet and Matuchniak's progressively tinged guitar work.

More pop/rock can be found on "Oyster Club" where the vocals sound a bit like David Bowie whereas the smart rock of "Tunnels" has guitar licks reminding me of Steely Dan's "Reelin' In The Years".

Matuchniak's soaring leads in the breezy "Island" are very nice as is the endearing vocal arrangement and lovely sax solo.

Matuchniak saves the prog for last with the the three part suite, "Reprisal", Chaos" and "Victory". "Reprisal" features Alan Parson's-like keyboards and some the best vocals on the album. "Chaos" is a shorter tune and more in the prog fusion vein. The album closes with the heavy "Victory", complete with raging keyboards, stellar guitar work and outstanding bass. For all you Marley fans there is even a brief foray into reggae.

Like Uncover Me, Matuchniak has delivered the goods with Destiny. I am digging this more and more with each listen. Highly recommended!

Track Listing:
1. Destiny (2:52)
2. Product (8:27)
3. Spies (3:47)
4. Oyster Club (5:42)
5. Tunnel (2:50)
6. Go Fast (2:04)
7. Go Slow (5:24)
8. Island (7:18)
9. Reprisal (5:40)
10. Chaos (1:18)
11. Victory (7:00)

Added: March 16th 2015
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Artist's Official Site
Hits: 1634
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by