Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Secret of Boris: Your Ghost

Looks past the odd name, and Dallas rock act Secret of Boris actually have a pretty enjoyable debut here with Your Ghost, an album featuring 12 songs that run the gamut from metal, hard rock, prog, and emotional pop. Comprised of vocalist Cameron Taylor, guitarist Ryan Byrd, bassist Ryan Ragus and drummer Ryan Arthur, Secret of Boris formed back in 2010 and have been busy writing songs and playing live for the past five years, and the fruits of their labor are contained here on Your Ghost.

On one hand, the band dishes out some intriguing, melodic prog/pop with an indie feel on the haunting "Fall Down", a tune that will easily appeal to fans of the more somber works of Anathema or Porcupine Tree, but then they turn right around with some lethal stoner riffs & grooves as on "Retro" and "Virus". Like raunchy Southern Rock? Look no further than "What You Became", chock full of sizzling slide guitars and a fat bottom end, while "Lost in a Daze" and "Something Else" both are soaring pop tunes with memorable hooks delivered by lead vocalist Taylor. The back half of the CD is actually where things get even more interesting, as these songs feature plenty of keyboards and the guitar riffs are toned down a bit, as the band dives even further into prog rock waters but keeping the catchy hooks front and center. The haunting title track is especially clever, with dreamy, atmospheric arrangements highlighted by waves of synth & organ as Taylor soars over the top. If anything, at close to an hour, there's a lot of music to take in here, and you have to wonder with 12 songs the band might have been better suited trimming off a track or two to make Your Ghost a tad more cohesive. Either way, there's no denying the talent here, the band more than capable of writing songs with plenty of variety that should attract a wide range of listeners. Without a doubt, this is a band to keep your eyes on over the months and years ahead.

Track Listing
1) "Virus"
2) "Desert Blood "
3) "What You Became"
4) "Lost In A Daze"
5) "Retro"
6) "Fall Down"
7) "Something Else"
8) "The Difference"
9) "The Watcher"
10) "What Have You Done"
11) "From Now On"
12) "Your Ghost"

Added: March 17th 2015
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Band Facebook Page
Hits: 1497
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

» SoT Staff Roundtable Reviews:

Secret of Boris: Your Ghost
Posted by Simon Bray, SoT Staff Writer on 2015-03-17 06:47:44
My Score:

I concur with Peter Pardo's view that the strangely named Secret of Boris have made a decent debut album. I definitely agree that Your Ghost is too long but then most modern albums tend to be that way. It took me a few listens to make my mind up as to whom vocalist Cameron Taylor reminds me of…in fact it bugged me for quite a while until it suddenly came to me…Chris Robertson of Black Stone Cherry ! At times especially on the tremendous "Something Else" and pounding "The Difference" Secret of Boris sound very much like BSC but as it suggests above they float in and amongst genres but I would suggest that they are at their most potent when the rock out as they do to full effect on tracks such as "What Have You Done". I am sure that given the rub of the green Secret of Boris will do very well for themselves.

© 2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content © Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by