Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Iris Divine: Karma Sown

Karma Sown is the work of the progressive rock/metal trio Iris Divine, and what a striking debut full-length release it is. Without being informed of this you wouldn't realise that Karma Sown was actually a debut, as Karma Sown sounds like the efforts of seasoned musicians. Karma Sown is set to be released at the end of this month via Sensory Records, and it's one to be on the lookout for.

Iris Divine consists of vocalist and guitarist Navid Rashid along with Kris Combs on drums, keyboards/programming and bassist Brian Dobbs. Iris Divine's influences are from a vast range of metal/rock bands such as Dream Theater, Faith No More, Fear Factory, Tool, Porcupine Tree, Osi, Alice In Chains, Pantera and Rush. Taking inspirtation from the past and present don't expect to hear a group that just reproduces those that they are inspired by, as Iris Divine aren't your usual progressive group they do offer something else. Iris Divine's music is of the catchy kind loaded with hefty hooks and presents challenging performances such on the tasteful instrumental "In Spirals" and that stellar heavy closing number "In the Wake of Martyrs". Though like Dream Theater when Iris Divine do cut loose so to speak it's done in such an appealing way so it's not overwhelming, plus with the absence of fillers just engaging quality tunes the positives are many.

With strong melodies, edgy riffs and a memorable chorus "The Everlasting Sea" is up first, this Northern Virginia based group show what a powerful trio they are on numbers like "Fire of the Unknown" and "A Suicide Aware", and it sounds so effective when they duplicate each other at times on this one. The vocals are of the clean kind, melodic, powerful and so appealing, and I have to mention the bass which plays a sizeable role as this is one guy that knows his chops, as does their talented drummer who also has plenty of exciting input and he also know his way around the keyboards.

Karma Sown is a very accessible album that has something very appealing to offer not just the progressive, but also rock and metal fans.

Track Listing
1. The Everlasting Sea
2. Fire of the Unknown
3. A Suicide Aware
4. Mother's Prayer
5. Prisms
6. In Spirals
7. Apathy Rains
8. In the Wake of Martyrs

Added: March 13th 2015
Reviewer: Scott Jessup
Related Link: Facebook Page
Hits: 2649
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by