Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Mimes On Rollercoasters: 3

Here is a CD that has been an early surprise this year. With a name like Mimes On Rollercoasters I had no idea what to expect. If melodic sounding classic progressive rock with flavourings of pop, electronic and new wave sounds intriguing, please read on.

The album is called 3, which makes sense considering this is the bands third release. Mark Ruester formed the band a few years ago, starting a long running concept about two mimes; Marcel and Mimi. It might sound a bit unusual or even corny for that matter, but fear not as this is excellent stuff. The roster includes the aforementioned Ruester (acoustic guitar, bass, keyboards, percussion, vocals), Greg Teresi (electric guitar), Chessie Ruester (flute) and Adeline Ruester (alto saxophone).

Gentle acoustic guitar begins "Labor To Life" and settles into a nice mid-tempo groove. The vocals are a little dreamy, almost Yes-like, and as the music plows forward heavier guitar unfolds. The band's concoction of wistful and heavier sounds will sit well with fans of classic prog.

"Sunshine" delves into a Jethro Tull sound with vocals that hint of Ian Anderson and lovely flute throughout. This is also very melodic and accessible with an added dollop poppiness sprinkled on top.

The breezy "One-way Ticket Ride" is another mid-tempo number spliced with heavier rhythms and lush lead vocals. Jethro Tull and The Moody Blues certainly ring a bell.

"Painting On Sad Eyes" is a catchy tune reminding me of British synth new wave of the early '80s and ending with some biting lead guitar. The electronic elements are ever present in this one.

One of the best songs is "Fly Away", taking elements of electronic music, folk and space rock.

"I Walk Alone" is more reflective and poignant with a layer of melancholy in the lead vocals. This one is melodic and accessible with a '60s Moody Blues feel.

While Mimes On Rollercoasters are not going to revolutionize the music industry and they do not hesitate to show their influences, what they have created here is so enjoyable and well-crafted this will stay in my CD player for some time to come.

Track Listing:
1. Labor To Life
2. Sunshine
3. One-way Ticket Ride
4. Chained To A Life
5. Painting On Sad Eyes
6. Fly Away
7. I Walk Alone
8. So Far Away My Love
9. Fanfare For Maxine
10. Sleep Gently Sweet Angel

Added: March 13th 2015
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Band's Official Site
Hits: 2189
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

» Reader Comments:

Mimes On Rollercoasters: 3
Posted by Mimes On Rollercoasters on 2015-03-22 14:50:31
My Score:

Thank you for the kind review!

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by