Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Godsized: Heavy Lies the Crown

British metal act Godsized are set to unleash Heavy Lies the Crown on Metalville Records, the follow-up to their acclaimed 2013 debut Time. The band have built quite a following on the touring circuit, as their heavy yet melodic sound, influenced by acts such as Black Sabbath, Led Zeppelin, ZZ Top, Down, Alter Bridge, and Clutch, is tailor made for the stage, but here on this new studio effort they once again deliver the goods. Comprised of Glen Korner (vocals, guitar), Chris Charles (guitar), Gavin Kerrigan (bass), and Dan Kavanagh (drums), the bands sound features face melting, at times bluesy heavy metal riffs, a never ending supply of grooves, white hot guitar solos, and Korner's addicting vocal melodies.

Opener "Welcome to Hell" sets the stage for what's to come, a bruising thumper with manic rhythms and never ending riffs, giving way to the more melodic "Saving You" and "Push Against the Tide", the latter with irresistible melodies and beefy guitar licks that you won't be able to get out of your head. The churning "Never a Better Time" is a workout for both guitarists, loaded with serious wah-wah licks, and the darker "Web of Lies" manages to be catchy despite its menacing tone. Lynyrd Skynyrd meets ZZ Top on the Southern Rock raunch of "Forgotten Friend", and that rootsy flair once again rears its head on the upbeat "Do You See What I See?". One of the heavier pieces here is "Stone Cold Blow to the Head", a chugging doom laden rocker in the spirit of Black Sabbath and Down, and the near 7-minute "Pay Your Debt" mixes moody atmospherics, psychedelia, and crushing doom metal for a powerful statement.

Heavy Lies the Crown offers up a good amount of variety, plenty of heavy moments, instantly memorable melodies, and tight musicianship. It's a winning formula, and should further endear Godsized to not only their existing fans, but also win over new converts.

Track Listing
1. Welcome To Hell
2. Saving You
3. Push Against The Tide
4 Never A Better Time
5. Web Of Lies
6. Fade
7. Forgotten Friend
8. Do You See What I See?
9. Stone Cold Blow To The Head
10. Out Of Fear
11. Pay Your Debt

Added: March 8th 2015
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Band Facebook Page
Hits: 2133
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by