Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Burning Saviours: Unholy Tales From the North

Our wonderful friends over at Transubstans Records have once again delivered the goods, this time in the form of Swedish doom/heavy rock act Burning Saviours. Though the band have been together since 2003 and have a handful of releases to their credit, they've had numerous line-up changes and even broke up back in 2008. Thankfully they decided to reform in 2010, and the current line-up of Mikael Monks (Vocals), Jonas Hartikainen (Lead Guitar), Erik Svedberg (Rhythm Guitar), Fredrik Evertsson (Bass), and Martin Wijkström (Drums) are unleashing Unholy Tales From the North, a mesmerizing platter of Black Sabbath/Pentagram styled classic doom that will thrill anyone into creepy, heavy sounds.

"They Will Rise Tonight" kicks things off in menacing fashion, as mammoth guitar riffs and Monks eerie vocals take you all the way back to 1974, signaling to the listener that they are in store for some seriously delicious early '70s styled heavy rock. "And the Wolves Cried Out" and "Your Love Hurts Like Fire" are slightly more upbeat, and each one a bit catchy, but the arrangements still hit hard with a lot of bottom end. "Ondskan" brings to mind some of the bluesy, heavy rock of the legendary November, while "Inside My Mind" rumbles along in grand Ozzy era Sabbath tradition, the riffs lurching and the rhythms pounding. The headbanging continues on the furious "The Sons of the North", and "Lyktgubben" throws some intricate guitar patterns, wah-wah leads, as well as more lumbering heavy riffs at the listener with explosive results. By the time the CD ends, you'll be left wanting more, and to me that's always a good sign of a successful recording. If you crave '70s styled hard rock & doom, do yourself a favor and get yourself a copy of this little gem.

See more about this release on our recent YouTube show!

Track Listing
01. They Will Rise Tonight
02. And The Wolves Cried Out
03. Your Love Hurts Like Fire
04. Ondskan
05. Inside My Mind
06. The Sons Of The North
07. Lyktgubben

Added: February 27th 2015
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Band Facebook Page
Hits: 1939
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index ]

© 2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content © Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by