Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Patte, Indrek: Thank And Share

Indrek Patte is an Estonian musician who has been making music since the '70s, most notably for the progressive rock bands Ruja and Linnu Tee. He released his first solo album, Celebration, in 2011. His sophomore effort Thank And Share came out in 2014. The music is lush symphonic progressive rock influenced by the usual suspects like Yes, Genesis and Marillion. As such, there is nothing new under the sun here but the tunes are so rich and melodic all can be forgiven.

Patte adds vocals, keyboards, acoustic and 12 string guitars, mandolin and keyboards as well as writing the music and lyrics. He also did the mixing and mastering so there is no doubting the man's ability. However, he doesn't go it alone as he has sought the help of eight guest musicians including guitar extraordinaire Kalle Vilpuu who adds his talents to one track.

The album's first track "Light Ship" is an earworm inducing slice of symphonic prog with its grandiose orchestrations and soaring guitar riffs. This is catchy and accessible progressive rock but still lets loose with some imaginative tempo changes and heavier rhythms, ensuring boredom never enters the picture. "Dance In Livland" is another symphonic delight starting with folky acoustic guitar before twisting and turning through a myriad of keyboard solos and Yes-like vocal harmonies. The instrumentation is both heavy and soft with the more pastoral moments really quite sublime. "Heaven's Truth" is another solid tune in the neo vein, this time with some shred-like guitar solos.

One of the more obvious references to Yes is the uplifting and melodic "The Servant Soul" featuring some nice axe work from Vilpuu.

Another highlight is the mini epic "Share" ending the album on a high note. While Patte may be guilty of wearing his influences on his sleeve, his love of '70s symphonic prog is obvious, the tune is so well constructed and easy to listen to, I could not help but be drawn in. The heavier riffs and abundant keyboard sounds are weighed equally with some nice pastoral moments as well.

Detractors will say this has all been done before and that might be the case. However, Thank And Share is still an excellent listen and if you are a fan of symphonic prog I highly recommend it.

Track Listing:
1. Light Ship
2. Dance In Livland
3. Heaven's Truth
4. In Your Arms
5. Promises
6. The Servant Soul
7. In Memories
8. Share

Added: February 23rd 2015
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Artist's Official Site
Hits: 2689
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by