Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Alpha Tiger: iDentity

Peter Langforth (guitar), Stephan Dietrich (vocals0, Alexander Backasch (guitar), Dirk Frei (bass) and David Schleif (drums)are Alpha Tiger and consider themselves, " as a mature and independent metal act," and feel that they have really stepped up their game since their debut album. According to main songster Peter Langford, ""When we released our debut album Man Or Machine in 2011, it was greeted by raving reviews because lots of fans felt reminded of the golden age of heavy metal. Although this was an ideal start for us, it was nothing we wanted to limit ourselves to." iDentity is the sound of exactly how Alpha Tiger want to portray themselves.

They have much going for them; the album was guided by Mirco 'Godi' Hildmann (Guano Apes, among others) and Dominik Glöckner at Berlin's Music Flash Studio. The nine songs plus intro were produced by Alpha Tiger themselves, before being mixed and mastered by Tommy Newton (UFO, Victory, Gamma Ray) at the Area 51 Studio in Celle and things sounds as pristine as one would expect. There are some good songs on iDentity notably "Long Way Of Redemption" which also features some exemplary guitar work which is a feature of the album as a whole. The intro of "Identity" really works for me as does the chorus and I find this mid-section of the album to be strong. Some of the tunes surrounding them I find less strong but there's much here to suggest that Alpha Tiger can move forward with confidence.

Track Listing:
DigiPak Version:
1. Intro 00:43
2. Lady Liberty 04:14
3. Scripted Reality 06:21
4. Long Way Of Redemption 05:54
5. Identity 05:52
6. We Won`t Take It Anymore 04:31
7. Revolution In Progress 05:05
8. Closer Than Yesterday 04:54
9. Shut Up & Think 04:31
10. This World Will Burn 07:21

DVD (live at Bang Your Head Festival, Germany)
1. The Alliance 08:49
2. From Outer Space 04:35
3. Against The Time 05:28
4. Beneath The Surface 05:41
5. Waiting For A Sign 06:18
6. Along The Rising Sun 04:10
7. Karma 05:18
8. Black Star Pariah 07

Added: February 23rd 2015
Reviewer: Simon Bray
Related Link: Band Website
Hits: 1628
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

© 2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content © Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by