Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Zero Stroke: As the Colours Seep

As the Colours Seep is the title of this progressive rock/metal EP recorded by the technically adept group Zero Stroke. Based in Cape Town, South Africa Zero Stroke are fans of Dream Theater, King Crimson, Rush, Al di Meola, Frank Zappa and Meshuggah. Now it's Zero Stroke's turn to show what they can do with their self produced EP. Considering the band's members aren't seasoned producers but still took it on board to tackle the production of this album Zero Stroke really have done a solid job.

While Zero Stroke may be a relatively new band that is solely in name, as the line-up we find on As the Colours Seep have actually been performing progressive material together under the name of The Ministry Of Lost Souls prior to Zero Stroke. It was when The Ministry Of Lost Souls' keyboardist departed that the band then decided to grasp this opportunity and start a new, and so Zero Stroke came to be commencing live performances in early 2014. Also whilst their keyboardist may have departed the keys have not been discarded.

Apart from the band name and prominent bass work you probably wont confuse Zero Stroke with Zero Hour, that fine and heavier progressive group that unfortunately no longer exists. Though I kept going to type their name when writing this review. Musically Zero Stroke are more set on but hardly restricted to that Dream Theater style of progressive metal and also incorporating numerous well crafted instrumental passages. As the Colours Seep is somewhat of a mixture with varying intensity and overall any similarities to others are limited. Zero Stroke really strut their stuff so to speak with songs like "The Median Cycle" and bring the EP to a close in style with the extended "There Were Flaws" presenting a good deal of technical flair the band isn't holding back. Zero Stroke sure didn't waste the opportunity, they set out to impress packing a lot into the five tracks presented here and impress they have.

Track Listing
1. The Median Cycle
2. Mask
3. Machine
4. Shed
5. There Were Flaws

Added: February 21st 2015
Reviewer: Scott Jessup
Related Link: Facebook Page
Hits: 2037
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by