Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Ashes in Vein: Ashes in Vein

Pavement Entertainment is now releasing the 4-song self-titled debut EP from Kansas melodic metal act Ashes in Vein, a band comprised of Tyler Peterson (vocals), Zach Howard (guitar, vocals), James Swaim (bass, vocals), Jackson Hoyle (guitar), and Andrew Calovich (drums). These guys have been around since 2008, but went dormant for a few years and suffered some line-up changes before solidifying things back in 2012. Their music is a mix of metalcore, melodic death metal, and modern metal, with growls, screams, bellows, and soaring clean vocals making for a satisfying mix on the vocal front. Musically, Ashes in Vein aren't really doing anything new here, but the songs are solid, with some hefty guitar muscle on tracks like "Misery" and the title track. "Until the End of Time" features some strong interplay between the melodic vocals and the growls, plus some tasty lead guitar work, but the 'tough guy' attitude on a tune like "Fight" just seems forced. Overall, there's nothing really bad on Ashes in Vein, but nothing overly memorable either. This is a band with some solid skills, but I think they haven't really found their identity yet, and are in need of something new to set them apart from the thousands of other bands treading similar ground.

Track Listing
01 Misery
02 Ashes In Vein
03 Fight
04 Until the End of Time

Added: February 14th 2015
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Band Facebook Page
Hits: 1858
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by