Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

THEO: The Game Of Ouroboros

Progressive rock fans may not know the name Jim Alfredson. The Hammond B3 specialist is best known in the jazz world as the leader of the jazz trio Organissimo which formed in 2000. About three years ago Alfredson wanted to try his hand at progressive rock. Inspired by the likes of ELP, Pink Floyd, Genesis, et all, he began working on The Game Of Ouroboros which has finally come to fruition.

In the band are Jim Alfredson (lead and backing vocals, keyboards), Gary Davenport (bass, Chapman stick, fretless bass), Kevin DePree (drums, percussion, backing vocals) and Jake Reichbart (guitars).

The album owes plenty to those classic prog bands of the '70s but Alfredson certainly puts his own spin on things. The title track begins the album with a pastoral Floyd-like intro building slowly before turning heavier with excellent guitar and organ solos. "The Blood That Floats My Throne" is mellower with gently pulsating electronics and ambient-like soundscapes. It is a laid back approach but there is still lots happening musically in a subtle kind of way. I especially like the orchestral crescendo near song's end. "Creatures Of Our Comfort" is another laid back effort with gently sweeping soundscapes of electronic effects and keyboards while the album ending "Exile" starts out calmly with a pastoral bent before the tempo picks up and turns into a full out classic symphonic prog workout with fabulous keyboard solos and sparkling musicianship. The album loses a bit of steam with the mellow "These Are The Simple Days" and "Idle Worship" but they are still quite sophisticated and the playing is first rate.

The Game Of Ouroboros is a sonically stunning progressive rock album with excellent musicianship, great melodies and dreamy atmospheres. Check out the band's website or Generation Prog Records for more information.

Track Listing:
1. The Game Of Ouroboros
2. The Blood That Floats My Throne
3. Creatures Of Our Comfort
4. These Are The Simple Days
5. Idle Worship
6. Exile

Added: February 11th 2015
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Band's Official Site
Hits: 2254
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by