Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Night Demon: Curse of the Damned

You'd be hard pressed not to think that Curse of the Damned was anything but a 1982 release right out of the NWOBHM scene, but lo and behold, this is the brand new release from the US trio calling themselves Night Demon. That's right, Jarvis Leatherby, Brent Woodward, and Dusty Squires hail from sunny Ventura, California, not the first place one would expect a band perfecting the classic British heavy metal scene of the early '80s to reside in, but that indeed is the case. Vintage UFO, Saxon, Tygers of Pan Tang, Diamond Head, Iron Maiden, Satan, and even some Riot, all kind of make up the batch of influences that Night Demon seem to draw from, yet they've presented their own sound for a classic take on an era that is near and dear to many metal fan's hearts.

Kick off track "Screams in the Night" shows just what these guys are all about, as tasty riffing, sizzling solos, galloping rhythms, and memorable melodies lead that charge in what is just a sensational heavy metal song. "Full Speed Ahead" is another winner, a raging piece with a clear nod to early Iron Maiden & Satan, and you have to like the epic, doomy tones of "The Howling Man". "Heavy Metal Heat" sees their love for Saxon, Judas Priest, and UFO come to the forefront, a catchy metal anthem that seems to have been unlocked from a 1982 time capsule, while the churning, and quite heavy numbers "Mastermind", "Run for Your Life", and especially "Killer" contain some mighty fine riffing and strong vocals.

In short, this is a fun, classic sounding heavy metal record that will instantly take you back 30 years. Memorable songs, heavy riffs, tasty lead guitar solos, addicting rhythms, and powerful vocals...all the elements are there for a real winner. Along with the latest from Visigoth, Curse of the Damned is an early favorite here in 2015 for best traditional heavy metal album of the year.

See more about this release on our recent YouTube show!

Track Listing
1. Screams in the Night 03:29
2. Curse of the Damned 04:58
3. Satan 03:02
4. Full Speed Ahead 02:36
5. The Howling Man 06:47
6. Heavy Metal Heat 03:04
7. Livin' Dangerous 04:30
8. Mastermind 04:06
9. Run for Your Life 03:04
10. Killer 03:12
11. Save Me Now 05:15

Added: February 7th 2015
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Band Facebook Page
Hits: 1653
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by