Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Sinagoga Zen: Sinagoga Zen

Sinagoga Zen is a Brazilian progressive rock band who released a self-titled album in the fall of 2014. Since all the information I came across was in Spanish I apologize in advance if any of this review is inaccurate.

The band formed in 2001 but I am not sure how many albums they have released. I believe at some point they disbanded and eventually got back together, culminating with the release of Sinagoga Zen. This fine group of musicians includes:

Alison Seben drums and percussion
Felipe C. Taborda guitar, bass, viola
Giulia F. Dall'oglio vocals
Rafael Vignatti keyboards
Wilian M. Baldasso bass, guitar, viola, violin

The band play intricate and complex progressive rock with elements of classical, jazz and fusion. There is no better example of the band's talent than in the first track "Mudanca dos tempos", a twenty minute epic of the highest caliber. The music weaves through soundscapes of classical piano, heavy grooving progressive rock, intricate strings and complex rhythms. There is great dynamics here as the band go back and forth between gentle and heavier parts with fluidic ease. The ending is quiet beautiful as Dall'oglio's heavenly vocals play against pretty acoustic guitar. More sophisticated prog can be heard in the classy "2014" with the intricate keyboard work being a major highlight. "Presenca" is another excellent piece where jazzy overtones meet full out prog rock bliss. The bass, electric piano and guitar leads are equally enjoyable. The jazzy prog of "Abdu Pensante" is a little heavier, again featuring wonderful electric piano, synths and soaring lead guitar. The last track "Instante de velejar" adds some Brazilian flavours especially in the percussion and vocals and features an acoustic intro that recalls '70s Yes. The mood is positive and upbeat and features excellent keyboard work and Latin style acoustic guitar midway through.

Sinagoga Zen have made an intricate and majestic progressive rock album that most fans of classic prog should enjoy. I highly recommend it.

Track Listing:
1. Mudanca dos tempos
2. 2014
3. Presenca
4. Abdu Pensante
5. Instante de velejar

Added: February 5th 2015
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Band's Official Site
Hits: 2336
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by