Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Battleaxe: Power From the Universe

Hailing from Sunderland, England, the band known as Battleaxe have been around since the dawn of the New Wave of British Heavy Metal movement in the early 1980s. Comprised of Dave King (vocals), Brian Smith (bass), Steve Hardy (guitar), and Ian McCormack (drums), Battleaxe released their second album Power From the Universe in 1984, which coincided with a large tour of the UK with fellow NWOBHM mates Saxon. Here we are 30 years later and SPV/Steamhammer are reissuing this very solid platter or classic heavy metal for all those who perhaps missed it the first time around.

If you love the early anthems of bands such as Def Leppard, Saxon, Judas Priest, Heavy Pettin', Demon, or AC/DC, chances are Power From the Universe is going to be right up your alley. Fist pumping choruses, chunky guitar riffs, and galloping rhythms make up the formula, and it's one memorable song after another throughout this very upbeat & energetic album. "Over the Top" and the title track rock hard yet have that commercial edge just like British Steel era Judas Priest, while "Metal Rock", "License to Rock" and "Fortune Lady" have that hungry exuberance associated with Def Leppard circa their High 'n' Dry album. "Make it in America" should have 'made' the band here, a catchy rocker that again recalls Leppard, Saxon, or AC/DC, complete with a big chorus and addicting riffs. This reissue also contains a few bonus tracks, including the raging "Killer Woman", the hook laden "Radio Thunder", and the addicting riff fest that is "My Love's On Fire", another tune that could have easily been a big hit in the mid '80s. "Love Sick Man" even has a little KISS flavor to it.

Here we are kick starting 2015 with this very fine reissue from the SPV/Steamhammer family. If you can't get enough of the classic sounds of the NWOBHM scene and missed Battleaxe the first time around, make sure you do so now. Recommended!

Track Listing
1.Chopper Attack 04:19
2. Metal Rock 04:13
3. Licence To Rock 04:23
4. Fortune Lady 06:49
5. Shout It Out 04:09
6. Over The Top 05:09
7. Power From The Universe 03:56
8. Make It In America 05:07
Bonus Tracks:
9. Killer Woman 03:01
10. Radio Thunder 03:38
11. My Love`s On Fire 03:26
12. Love Sick Man 03:55

Added: January 19th 2015
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Band Facebook Page
Hits: 1538
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by