Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Cognition: Cognition

Cognition's self-titled release is produced by Jeff Westlake in Ashland Ky at his Ridgeline Productions studio and he has helped the band gain a nice big, fat sound. Cognition Josh Dodrill is lead vocalist, Evan Michael is the man with the drumsticks, guitars are handled by Jared Gaminde and Tyler Vincent whilst Nino Mancini handled bass duties. All members were under the age of twenty-one at the time of recording and they offer a mixture of straight ahead rock mixed with more technical aspects with some evidence of death metal lobbed into the mix as well.

Cognition are obviously pretty angry and this translates into their furious riffage and powerful rhythms especially on the standout song "Attila The Gun". It's around about this part of the record where things get really interesting with "State of the Art" pummeling the senses as well. That said, this is a brutal introduction (for me at least) for a band with a lot going for them.

Track Listing:
  • 1) The March
  • 2) Countdown
  • 3) Recoil
  • 4) Words Of Insanity
  • 5) Rightful Designation
  • 6) Attila The Gun
  • 7) State Of The Art
  • 8) Plethora
  • 9) Equanimity
  • Added: January 16th 2015
    Reviewer: Simon Bray
    Related Link: Band Facebook Page
    Hits: 1451
    Language: english

    [ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
    [ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


    [ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

    2004 Sea Of Tranquility
    For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
    If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
    Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

    All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

    SoT is Hosted by