Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Raunchy: Vices.Virtues.Visions.

Vices.Virtues.Visions., the 6th album by the Danish Metal masters, Raunchy, does not disappoint. These Danes have once again set the bar high with this masterful release of 11 new tracks (there is also a Limited Edition Digipak available with 2 Bonus tracks!!) of Modern Melodic "Death" Metal. This new release is also the first to feature their new vocalist, Mike Semesky, who fits in perfectly. Old fans of Raunchy will not be disappointed one bit, as they have not lost a beat and newcomers that like bands like Fear Factory, In Flames, Soilwork or Mnemic will totally dig Vices.Virtues.Visions. The record combines the Raunchy sound of mostly clean vocals with the odd growl that work great together, all the while mixed with a great melodic feel and a dash of Industrial Metal for good measure.

Vices.Virtues.Visions. is packed with even more powerful riffing than their last record, A Discord Electric and also still contains the keyboard and programming sounds that are an integral part of Raunchy's sound, as well as the cannon like drumming that pushes this release over the top. Lead off track, "Eyes of the Storm" is a brutal opening track that also features an almost Pop-like chorus that just works and is so, well…Raunchy. Heavy and melodic is what this record offers in spades, just check out the manic detuned riff of "Anesthesia Throne" that again leads into a hum along of a chorus and then right back into the heavy riffage. Brilliant!

Raunchy have done it again with the killer album that is Vices.Virtues.Visions. This is an instant modern Metal classic that is heavy and catchy at the same time and doesn't let go until the end of the last great track, "The Singularity Heart". I've been a Raunchy fan since 2002's Velvet Noise and these guys just keep getting better and better. If you are into the Melodic Death Metal thing, then this is a record that you need to have in your collection, it smokes!!

See more about this release on our recent YouTube show!

Track Listing

  1. Eyes of a Storm
  2. Truth Taker
  3. Digital Dream
  4. Never Enough
  5. The Castaway Crown
  6. Anesthesia Throne
  7. Luxuria
  8. I, Avarice
  9. Frozen Earth
  10. Clarity
  11. The Singularity Heart

Added: January 11th 2015
Reviewer: Butch Jones
Related Link: Band Facebook Page
Hits: 2371
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index ]

© 2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content © Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by