Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

U.D.O.: Decadent

Here we have quite the praiseworthy metal album titled Decadent. Decadent is the fifteenth studio under the name U.D.O. and one with a theme that "deals mostly with the decadent behavior of the rich upper classes, with the main theme of the album basically that of social criticism." Steelhammer their previous album was an impressive robust compilation, and Udo Dirkschneider and his band mates certainly haven't dropped the ball on their newest release Decadent.

Taking flight we are treated to U.D.O.'s dynamic metal on "Speeder", and the band flex that musical muscle again for "Decadent". The title track sounds partly like U.D.O. and Rammstein have united and generated a thumping memorable metal number, I'm sure a song like "Decadent" will be enthusiastically received when performed live. There is also a rather confronting video for "Decadent" dealing with the album's theme that is available to view online. The metal's still biting hard for "House Of Fake", "Mystery" has a cool Hammond sounding intro that is soon substituted by U.D.O.'s addictive slower potent music. "Pain" is a mid-paced heavy rocking tune while next is a power ballad of sorts "Secrets In Paradise" . The guitars are screaming in anger on "Meaning Of Life" and U.D.O. stay on track with more top songs for the remainder of Decadent like "Untouchable", they fire up for the energetic "Rebels Of The Night" and the longest track "Words In Flame" flows with tasty potency.

You basically know what to expect with a new U.D.O. album, that is the distinct raspy vocal style of legendary frontman Udo Dirkschneider and their rock solid ultra-catchy heavy tracks with the odd surprise thrown in. Decadent is no different as U.D.O.'s precision metal crew continue to do it so well and give their fans what they want to hear, Decadent is another stirring U.D.O. release.

See more about this release on our recent YouTube show!

Track Listing
1. Speeder
2. Decadent
3. House Of Fake
4. Mystery
5. Pain
6. Secrets In Paradise
7. Meaning Of Life
8. Breathless
9. Under Your Skin
10. Untouchable
11. Rebels Of The Night
12. Words In Flame

Added: January 9th 2015
Reviewer: Scott Jessup
Related Link: Band Website
Hits: 3264
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by