Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

MindMaze: Back From The Edge

Female fronted metal groups sure are plentiful, and the melodic power/progressive metal band MindMaze are one of the better ones. Back From The Edge is the follow up to their debut Mask Of Lies of 2013, and as an added attraction Back From The Edge has some enticing names on the guest list. Including Stratovarius keyboard wizard Jens Johansson who performs on the track "Moment In Flight", guitarists Lord Tim of the Aussie metal band Lord and Matt Johansen from Pharaoh both have guest spots, while Mike Lepond of Symphony X is on bass duties for the duration of Back From The Edge. MindMaze remind of others in part like say Vision Divine but with no glaring direct comparisons to be drawn, as MindMaze have done an impressive job in working towards establishing their own sound.

The core line-up of MindMaze is drummer Kalin Schweizerhof and lead vocalist/lyricist Sarah Teet along with her brother Jeff whom had plenty to do as chief music writer, producer, keyboardist, guitarist and also backing vocalist. MindMaze's vibrant title track "Back From The Edge" features some rather athletic drumming and a rapid guitar input, MindMaze really alternate the tempo and complexity on "Through the Open Door" and Sarah Teet's vocals are just so easy to digest. Their instruments get a solid workout on "Moment of Flight" a very cool power/progressive metal track where Mike Lepond's bass work figures heavily. "Dreamwalker" blasts of with more appealing metal and "The Machine Stops" has a great blend of progressive/power metal and multiple tempo changes. "Consequence of Choice" is over flowing with further riveting metal and "End of Eternity" is another complex multi speed shifting melodic number with blazing solos in the mix and that continues on "Onward (Destiny Calls II)". A fitting title to end Back From The Edge with as the enthralling content should ensure that it is only onwards and upwards for MindMaze.

Track Listing
1. Back from the Edge
2. Through the Open Door
3. Moment of Flight
4. Dreamwalker
5. The Machine Stops
6. Consequence of Choice
7. End of Eternity
8. Onward (Destiny Calls II)

Added: December 31st 2014
Reviewer: Scott Jessup
Related Link: Facebook Page
Hits: 1707
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by