Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Hideous Divinity: Cobra Verde

The name of this album, Hideous Divnity's second release, comes from a film by Werner Herzog. I won't go into a synopsis of the film—I haven't seen it, anway—save only to say that it involves a decent into madness after the main character finds tortured and humiliated in Africa.

As for the album, it's a heavy and dark dose of death metal, played with an occasional nod to the genre's more technical side. The band, made up, in part, by former members of Ghouls and Hour of Penance, knows exactly how to whip things up into a frenzy. The music is sometimes claustrophobic, but I expect that's a key part of this album's purpose: to recreate the descent into madness of the bandit named Cobra Verde.

Fans of extreme death metal will enjoy this one.

Track Listing:
1. In My Land I Was a Snake
2. The Somber Empire
3. Cobra Verde
4. Salt in the Martyr's Tear
5. Sinister and Demented
6. Desolation Within
7. The Alonest of the Alone
8. Adjinakou
9. The Last and Only Son

Added: December 31st 2014
Reviewer: Carl Sederholm
Related Link: Band Facebook Page
Hits: 1544
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

© 2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content © Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by