Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Torme, Bernie: Flowers & Dirt

Though he's been busy the last few years with the power trio GMT, it's good to see a new solo album from Irish guitar hero Bernie Torme, his first in many years. The former Gillan/Ozzy/Desperado/Silver/Atomic Rooster axe-slinger is in fine form on this 20 song double album, delivering his trademark blues-metal material that is chock full of raunchy riffing and screaming whammy bar theatrics. If 20 songs sounds like a lot, it actually goes by quickly, as most of the tunes are roughly 3-4 minutes long, so they don't overstay their welcome, Torme serving up the goods with catchy hooks to go along with his acrobatic & chaotic guitar work. From the heavy funk of "Mr. Fixit", the memorable hard rock anthems "Crash & Burn" and "Partytown", and the raging metal of "Lockjaw", there's a little something here for everyone. The guitarist is perhaps at his best when diving straight into '70s styled bluesy hard rock, as he does on the fiery "Garden of Earth's Delight", and the wild "Stoneship" happens to be the longest track on the album, a psychedelic mind trip of hazy vocals and fuzz-toned guitar madness.

Flowers & Dirt is a lot of fun, and a welcome solo return from one of heavy rocks most under appreciated guitar players. Check out Bernie's Bandcamp page link below for more info on the new album, sound clips, as well as purchasing options.

Track Listing
1. Crash & Burn 03:18
2. Partytown 03:04
3. Blood Run Cold 03:31
4. Your Voodoo 03:34
5. Mr Fixit 05:40
6. No Lip (Tsunami Blues) 03:21
7. Devil and the Deep Blue 03:55
8. Lockjaw 02:08
9. Everybody Need Love 04:00
10. Good Man Down 06:05
11. Warpaint 01:56
12. Bad Juju 03:05
13. Mr Bad Luck 04:25
14. Highway Chains 03:49
15. Out in the Cold 04:48
16. Garden of Earth's Delight 04:57
17. Spirit Road 05:17
18. Turn of the Tide 04:04
19. Stoneship 08:34
20. Outlaw Blues 03:04

Added: December 23rd 2014
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Artist @ Bandcamp
Hits: 2018
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by