Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Jacobs Moor: All That Starts

Austrian metal group Jacobs Moor are described as a "mix of progressive, traditional heavy, power and thrash metal" and with a melodic and modern component. Hardly surprising as their Facebook page lists Machine Head, Devil Driver, Leprous, Slayer, Testament, Judas Priest, Iron Maiden, Dream Theater, Pantera, Lamb Of God as bands they are fond of. Though you would would be searching hard to find a great deal of direct comparisons. That range of styles have been taken on board and moulded into something else, the results can be heard on their album All That Starts a debut release with a rather catchy gathering of songs.

While Jacob's Moor don't overplay, they regularly demonstrate their musical chops without taking it too far allowing the songs to flow effectively and sink their hooks in. Of course they need a vocalist who can really mix it up and Richard Krenmaier formerly of the power metal group Stygma IV is a great fit, with appealing clean vocals to his more aggressive input.

The calming sounds and music of "The Moor" don't hang around for long, then "Between The Lies" introduces some express guitar work as Jacob Moor's music hits hard. The bass work on the edgy groover "Faceless Man" and elsewhere grabs your attention in a good way, and it's great to hear that this instrument hasn't been neglected. "Unfold" is a standout number I really like the dark and powerful feel of this excellent slower track. "Jaded" is probably the catchiest song on All That Starts and would make a great single as Jacob's Moor could have a potential hit with this endearing melodic modern metal tune. Jacobs Moor close out with "Final Sound" and some of their thrashiest input is on this track as it's full steam ahead or so it seems at first, when once again Jacobs Moor aren't fixated on the one style as the band add others. Jacob's Moor's All That Starts is quite the entertaining package, this is a band that you should keep an eye out for.

Track Listing
1. Moor
2. Between The Lies
3. Faceless Man
4. Unfound
5. The Truth
6. All That Starts
7. New Tomorrow
8. Last Remaining Light
9. Jaded
10. Final Sound

Added: December 21st 2014
Reviewer: Scott Jessup
Related Link: Facebook Page
Hits: 3556
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by