Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Powerwolf: The History of Heresy II (2009 – 2012)

The History of Heresy II (2009 – 2012) comes just six months after the equally catchily titled The History of Heresy (2004 – 2008) which covered the band's early period and included a whole lot of wolf-related extras and the boat has been pushed out again by Metal Blade. Essentially what we have are reissues of Bible of the Beast with a couple of bonus tracks, Blood of the Saints (lacking bonus tracks) and the curious The Sacrilege Symphony which, unsurprisingly given the name, features orchestral re-workings of key recent tunes.

It is this disc which will be of most interest to long term members of the pack such as me and do you know what? It's decidedly excellent. These tracks expand Powerwolf's usual gothic attraction to the nth degree. True, there are no riffs but the orchestral arrangements are surprisingly restrained and all the better for it as the strength of the songs are allowed to shine. Also allowed to shine is vocalist Attila Dorn who sounds magnificent over the top of classical instruments. It's not metal but as with the first Heresy album it's nicely priced and another excellent introduction to a band who should at some point make big waves outside Europe.

Track Listing:
DISC 1 – Bible of the Beast
01. Opening: Prelude to Purgatory
02. Raise Your Fist, Evangelist
03. Moscow After Dark
04. Panic in the Pentagram
05. Catholic in the Morning…Satanist at Night
06. Seven Deadly Saints
07. Werewolves of Armenia
08. We Take the Church by Storm
09. Resurrection by Erection
10. Midnight Messiah
11. St. Satans Day
12. Wolves Against the World
13. Testament in Black (Bonus Track)
14. Riding the Storm (Bonus Track)

DISC 2 – Blood of the Saints
01. Opening: Agnus Dei
02. Sanctified with Dynamite
03. We Drink Your Blood
04. Murder at Midnight
05. All We Need Is Blood
06. Dead Boys Don't Cry
07. Son of a Wolf
08. Night of the Werewolves
09. Phantom of the Funeral
10. Die, Die, Crucified
11. Ira Sancti (When the Saints Are Going Wild)

DISC 3 – The Sacrilege Symphony
01. Raise Your Fist, Evangelist (Orchestral Version)
02. In Blood We Trust (Orchestral Version)
03. Sanctified with Dynamite (Orchestral Version)
04. Ira Sancti (When the Saints Are Going Wild) [Orchestral Version]
05. Moscow After Dark (Orchestral Version)

Added: December 11th 2014
Reviewer: Simon Bray
Related Link: Band Website
Hits: 1768
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

© 2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content © Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by