Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Beck, Jeff: Live in Tokyo (Blu-ray)

Filmed at the Tokyo Dome City Hall in Japan on April 9, 2014, Live in Tokyo features the brand new backing band of legendary guitarist Jeff Beck, which includes drummer Jonathan Joseph, bassist Rhonda Smith, and guitarist Nicolas Meier. Those who were thrilled with the recent DVD/Blu-ray releases from Beck, Performing This Week...Live at Ronnie Scott's and Rock 'n' Roll Party, both of which were filmed in smaller club settings, will find much to enjoy with the 'bigger' vibe going on here in this expansive set with his new band.

Though they've been a unit just a short time, the four musicians have really jelled together quite nicely, evident by the many songs performed here. Beck classics, covers, and some newer tracks are all given royal treatment, with each member getting to strut their talents but the boss of course getting the major limelight. Highlights include a scorching "The Pump", a searing take on "Stratus", a tender rendition of "Little Wing", and the always classy numbers "Cause We've Ended As Lovers" and "Blue Wind". "Led Boots" rocks hard, with Beck's guitar attack screaming to the heavens, and there are spirited covers of "Rollin' and Tumblin'" as well as "A Day in the Life". There's barely a moment to catch your breath, as the band tear through one song after another in this highly entertaining jazz-fusion heavy set filled with virtuoso performances from all. Smith especially is worth watching, a fiery bassist who has plenty of funk chops to add to the set.

As always, the skills of Jeff Beck are fully on display, and it's just incredible to watch all the different sounds he gets out of his guitars without using a pick and using a minimum of effects. Basically his thumb, his whammy bar, and the volume & tone knobs are all he needs to fire off a volley of crazy sounds. Production wise, this Blu-ray comes with stellar sound and really crisp high definition video quality. Thankfully the camera crew doesn't jump all over the place every half second like so many other modern concert recordings do, so you can really watch the players doing their thing. Great stuff all around, and another complete winner from the folks at Eagle Rock.

Track Listing

  1. 'Loaded'
  2. 'Little Wing'
  3. 'You Know You Know'
  4. 'Hammerhead'
  5. 'Angel (Footsteps)'
  6. 'Stratus'
  7. 'Yemin'
  8. 'Where Were You'
  9. 'The Pump'
  10. 'Medley: Goodbye Pork Pie Hat / Brush With The Blues'
  11. 'You Never Know'
  12. 'Danny Boy'
  13. 'Blue Wind'
  14. 'Led Boots'
  15. 'Corpus Christi'
  16. 'Big Block'
  17. 'A Day In The Life'
  18. 'Rollin' And Tumblin"
  19. 'Cause We Ended As Lovers'
  20. 'Why Give It Away'

Bonus Features: Setlist Commentaries, Band on Band interviews

Added: November 30th 2014
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Eagle Rock Entertainment
Hits: 1095
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by