Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Nightbringer: Ego Dominus Tuus

Colorado black metal heathens Nightbringer have been toiling in the US underground since the late 1990s, and though they've been in hiding for some time, the wait is over now that their latest platter of vengeful hatred has been unleashed by Season of Mist, titled Ego Dominus Tuus, which is Latin for 'I am Your Lord'. Comprised of Naas Alcameth (Vocals, Guitars, Bass, Synthesizer), Ophis (Guitars, bass, vocals), VJS (Guitars, bass), ar Ra'd al-Iblis (Vocals), and Menthor (drums), Nightbringer opt for a more vintage styled black metal sound that hints at some of the legends of the genre such as Mayhem, Marduk, Emperor, and Gorgoroth. So, expect hellish vocals, raging blast beats, manic guitar riffs, and just the right touch of atmospheric synths to add that chilling factor.

Many of the tracks here are of somewhat epic length and quite powerful, like the furious "Lantern of Eden's Night" or the textured "Et Nox Illuminatio mea in Deliciis Meis", each one relentless in their attack but with enough subtleties to add that much needed atmosphere. "I am the Gateway" approaches the symphonic black metal of Dimmu Borgir or Emperor, and is really quite successful with the cavalcade of intricate riffing, keyboards, pulverizing rhythms, and venomous vocals, while the brutal "Where Fire never Dreamt of Man" just crushes from start to finish, obliterating everything in its path with menacing intent. Despite the violent & brutal nature of much of what is on display here on Ego Dominus Tuus, there's a majestic quality to the album that's hard to ignore, as Nightbringer have proven to be masters of their craft at creating regal, powerful black metal that offers up a nice homage to some of the Scandinavian greats. Well done.

Track Listing
1. Prayer of Nephal
2. Et Nox Illuminatio mea in Deliciis Meis
3. Lantern of Eden's Night
4. Things which are Naught
5. I am the Gateway
6. Call of the Exile
7. Where Fire never Dreamt of Man
8. The Witchfires of Tubal-Qayin
9. Salvation is the Son of Leviathan
10.The Otherness of Being

Added: November 29th 2014
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Band Facebook Page
Hits: 1970
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by