Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

FireWolfe: We Rule The Night

Firewolfe made an instant impact back in 2011 with their stunning self titled debut, an album of powerful traditional American metal which contained some intricate fret work. Three years down the line and the Wolfe are back, this time proclaiming that, We Rule The Night, and to be fair, I believe them! In the meantime there have been a few changes in the FW ranks, singer David Fefolt leaving and returning; apparently Ronny Munroe of Metal Church fame stepped in and as he stepped out again, guitarist Paul Kleff went with him... while bassist Zack Uidl also seems to have departed. So for album number two we have Fefolt behind the mic, the returning pair of drummer Jay Schellen (Asia/Unruly Child) and guitarist Nick Layton, alongside new bassist Bobby Ferkovich (Presto Ballet). Obviously the biggest change there is the move from a twin guitar attack, to a single one and while, in the studio, that really doesn't mean much, what it has resulted in is a singularly minded outlook in terms of riffs and solos. Don't get me wrong, Layton is fantastic here, and yet I'd be lying if I suggested that Kleff's presence isn't missed.

However We Rule The Night is still an energetic Metal album of high quality, with a strong Vicious Rumors lurching headlong into Dio feel. Ex Masi frontman Fefolt is on fire throughout, the likes of "Ready To Roll" finding a hugely powerful yet utterly melodic push of energy coming from his voice. At times Layton reminds of George Lynch (Dokken/Lynch Mob), little fret phrasings tumbling forth on a regular basis, while Schellen is, as expected, expected smack 'em to death time keeper extraordinaire behind the kit.

"Long Road Home" kicks into gear through a picked guitar line in the ilk of Iron Maiden and yet the stomping riff and roaring bass lands nearer Dio meets Savatage. Then once the howl of wolves has died down, "Luck Of The Draw" reveals a huge slab of riffing melody not necessarily apparent elsewhere, while the Hard Rock roar is served with a slice of Heavy Blues through "Who's Gonna Love You?"

All in We Rule The Night possesses a potent mix of styles, resulting in an album which should appeal to those into Heavy Melodic Rock and those into Traditional US Metal. Me, I like both, so subsequently Firewolfe hit the spot once more. Maybe not quite as precisely as on their debut, but then that's what happens when a band sets their own bar so high. Still, this comes strongly recommended.

Track Listing
1. We Rule the Night
2. The Devil's Music
3. Late Last Night
4. A Senator's Gun
5. Long Road Home
6. Who's Gonna Love You?
7. Ready to Roll
8. Betrayal's Kiss
9. Luck of the Draw
10. Dream Child

Added: November 22nd 2014
Reviewer: Steven Reid
Related Link: FireWolfe online
Hits: 2283
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by