Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Noturnall: Noturnall

Here we have the self-titled debut from Brazil's Noturnall, a band whose members are also affiliated with acts such as Karma, Shamen, Angra, Almah, and Tempestt. Featuring Thiago Bianch (Vocals), Lťo Mancini (Guitars), Juninho Carelli (Keyboards), Fernando Quesada (Bass), and Aquiles Priester (Drums), Noturnall play a style that has bits of progressive metal ala Symphony X as well as the more groove laden thump of acts such as Pantera or Adrenaline Mob. The presence of Symphony X/ Adrenaline Mob vocalist Russell Allen, who helped out on the production end as well as contributed his mighty vocals to the excellent "Nocturnal Human Side", casts a very wide shadow on each and every song, and truth be told Bianch's vocals are not too far removed from Allen's style. Plenty of melodic yet crunchy numbers to be found here, such as "Master of Deception", the screaming pinch harmonic attack that is "St. Trigger", and the angry "Hate!", but the band also get to show their softer, more progressive side with "Sugar Pill" and "Last Wish". Mancini gets to really show off his guitar prowess on the raging "Fake Healer", a groove laden ripper chock full of thunderous riffs and screaming lead guitar work, but also look for a fluid bass solo Quesada and soaring vocals courtesy of Bianch on this one. The glorious closer "The Blame Game" is just lovely, as majestic keyboards & acoustic guitar provide the framework for emotional vocals.

There's a lot to like here on Noturnall's debut, and album that dips into prog-metal as well as groove metal but doesn't sit firmly in either camp. In the end it's simply enjoyable melodic heavy metal featuring catchy songs and stellar musicianship. Can't ask for more than that!

See more about this release on our recent YouTube show!

Track Listing
1. No Turn at All
2. Nocturnal Human Side
3. Zombies
4. Master of Deception
5. St. Trigger
6. Sugar Pill
7. Last Wish
8. Hate
9. Fake Healer
10. The Blame Game

Added: November 22nd 2014
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Band Facebook Page
Hits: 1778
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

© 2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content © Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by