Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

King Diamond: Dreams Of Horror

2015 marks a significant milestone for King Diamond that is thirty years outside of Mercyful Fate. After twelve studio albums debuting with Fatal Portrait of 1986 and following that album up with Abigail a release which so many call King Diamond's finest and one story that would be revisited on the 2002 sequel, to the last studio release 2007's Give Me Your Soul …Please. Never really deviating from that classic guitar focused style with the King's unmistakable vocals regularly hitting those high notes, and featuring all those cleverly interwoven theatrical horrific tales with a fantastic atmospheric haunting feel. King Diamond has consistently released so many fine metal albums. Not to forget those very capable musicians doing their part along the way such as drummer Mikkey Dee and long term guitarist Andy LaRocque.

King Diamond now presents the opportunity to look back over that substantial time period via the release of a two disc collection titled Dreams Of Horror, and presenting what is an impressive gathering of many of those standout tracks. Not an easy choice given the quality of that back catalogue, those that appear were selected by the King and Andy LaRocque and released here with the best possible sound.

I suppose just like when we are presented with those re-masters we often see, the question is whether Dreams Of Horror is one of those will I or wont I purchase decisions, especially when you may already have all the originals. Though Dreams Of Horror is the definitive "best of" compilation and one for the collectors as the songs do sound great and the cover artwork looks so awesome and fitting for such a release. Of course if you are new to King Diamond or lacking those releases there sure is a riveting selection of songs to be found right here. Not having listened to many of these albums in some time Dreams Of Horror also serves as a reminder of the countless hours of enjoyment each release provided. Hopefully that new King Diamond studio album appears in the not too distant future and we are treated to more songs that may one day be regarded as metal classics, like many of those that appear on Dreams Of Horror.

Track Listing
Disc 1
1. The Candle
2. Dressed In White
3. The Family Ghost
4. Black Horsemen
5. Welcome Home
6. The Invisible Guests
7. At The Graves
8. Sleepless Nights
9. Let It Be Done
10. Eye Of The Witch
11. Insanity

Disc 2
1. Dreams
2. The Spider's Lullabye
3. Waiting
4. Heads On The Wall
5. Voodoo
6. Black Devil
7. Help!!!
8. Spirits
9. The Puppet Master
10. Blue Eyes
11. Never Ending Hill
12. Shapes Of Black

Added: November 22nd 2014
Reviewer: Scott Jessup
Related Link: Band Website
Hits: 2611
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

© 2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content © Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by