Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Darkroom: Gravity's Dirty Work

Burning Shed, the label that has signed and helped release some of the world's best electronic music from such varied and creative artists like NoSound, NoMan, Engineers and many others has found another excellent original talent in the group Darkroom. This is some great interstellar music that King Crimson might have made if they were starting today instead of decades ago. It is very innovative and at the same time hints at being as big as "2001 A Space Odyssey". It is very good mind tuning music which will make you think in so many ways and directions you will need to replay the album a few times to take in all the grandeur.

The Darkroom is a duo that includes electronic geniuses Michael Bearpark, (No-Man, Henry Fool), electric guitars, pedals, loops and feedback, and bass; and Andrew Ostler, (Expert Sleepers), on synthesizers, keyboards, and programming. Gravity's Dirty Work is a double album full of innovative sounds that even a guy like Larry Fast would like to to sit back and wonder while being surrounded with the brilliant highs and lows.

The album also features Andrew Booker, (No-Man, Henry Fool, Sanguine Hum), on percussion; and Simon H. Fell, (Keith Tippett, Derek Bailey, Lol Coxhill), on double bass. Gravity's Dirty Work was mastered by Jon Astley, (The Who, George Harrison, Tori Amos). Carl Glover created the preparation for launch album cover which helps sets the tone well.

Every track on the album is full of innovative sounds and instrumentation. But a personal favorite was the emotional "Karhupuisto / Beautiful Retreat", which sounded like some of Pink Floyd's later work.

Burning Shed does it again. Proving they have one of the top artist recruitment process of the many remaining record labels. They just get it. They know how to find and develop the most unique talent.

Get this album and sit back, relax, take it all in, and yes be amazed.

Track Listing:
Strung with Black Nylon 06:52
Baby Armageddon 07:50
There's No Such Thing as Noise 08:12
Karhupuisto / Beautiful Retreat 06:42
Ahead Finitely 03:54
Gravity's Dirty Work 10:56
Memorianova 07:00
A Pair a Part 08:50

Added: November 22nd 2014
Reviewer: Mark Johnson
Related Link:
Hits: 1910
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by