Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

E GONE: All the Suns of the Earth

E GONE is the work of Swedish musician Daniel Westerlund of the psych/folk band The Goner. All the Suns of the Earth is his first solo album. Before digging into this one I was completely unfamiliar with Westerlund's music.

All the Suns of the Earth is another one of those albums that is hard to pigeonhole. There are psychedelic tones throughout the album's nine tracks but that only scratches the surface of what this music has to offer. Electronic/techno grooves, drone, post-rock, space and American folk music are all touched upon in one form or another. It might sound like a mish mash of styles but on the whole the songs are very cohesive and well thought out.

The album opens with "Hexx", beginning with a techno coloured bass groove mixed with a hint of '60s surf guitar riffs and angular Eastern rhythms. The sitar gives this one an exotic Arabic flair and percolating sound effects are found throughout. "The Drug Behind The Drug" features droning effects and spacey soundscapes that become more intense as the song progresses. "The Poor Of Heart" is a pretty slice of American folk music with a poignantly sad melody and soothing acoustic guitar. This is the first track with vocals and Westerlund proves to have a pleasing voice, a little understated with an easy laid back approach. A subtle techno vibe returns with "Blind Tribe" with distorted riffs giving way to chiming guitar rhythms and drone-like electronics. The post-rock/eastern themed "Hanumannerism" brings back the sitar while "Traveler, You Will Sing" combines folky banjo picking and drone-like synth effects. The experimental "Hazel Motes At The Plastic Vortex" is a nine minute piece featuring dense layers of drone, psychedelic and space-like effects. It's a cool tune that goes by pretty quickly considering its length. The album ends on a melancholic note with the relaxing and acoustically driven "Fever Child", a poignant instrumental that wraps up the package rather nicely.

All the Suns of the Earth is an interesting album filled with icy soundscapes and engaging melodies. If you are into post rock and/or electronic music, with a dash of folk music thrown in for good measure, you should check it out.

Track Listing:
1. Hexx
2. The Drug Behind The Drug
3. The Poor Of Heart
4. Blind Tribe
5. Hanumannerism
6. Traveler, You Will Sing
7. Hazel Motes At The Plastic Vortex
8. You Will Sing
9. Fever Child

Added: November 21st 2014
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Label's Official Site
Hits: 2739
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by