Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Bush: Man On The Run

Man On The Run, studio album number six from alt-rockers Bush and the second since their 2010 reformation, finds the band in forceful mood and rallying against the onset of middle age. The near decade long hiatus since the turn of the century offered Gavin Rossdale and co the opportunity to both stretch their wings and recharge the batteries although, as with so many of their peers, some sort of reformation always seemed inevitable even if the days of multi-platinum sales are long gone.

A backdrop of effective and engaging riffs set to the radio-friendly atmospheric, angst-driven and occasionally melancholy style of Rossdale's vocals are the basic blueprint here and when it all works well ('Loneliness Is a Killer', 'The Only Way Out', 'Bodies in Motion') the results are pretty spectacular. There is a strong sense of melody throughout and whilst they are not pushing any new boundaries the Bush of the twenty first century compare favourably with their contemporaries. And yet as with so many of today's album releases however there is a tendency towards quantity over quality (the regular eleven track album checks on at a respectable fifty minutes only for the addition of three largely superfluous bonus tracks to push it well past the hour mark) which makes for some lesser moments. Nevertheless Bush are nothing if not resilient and overall this is a very solid release that whilst not perhaps winning over the doubters should certainly see them welcome back lapsed fans into the fold.

01. Just Like My Other Sins
02. Man on the Run
03. The Only Way Out
04. The Gift
05. This House is on Fire
06. Loneliness is a Killer
07. Bodies in Motion
08. Broken in Paradise
09. Surrender
10. Dangerous Love
11. Eye of the Storm
12. Let Yourself Go [deluxe edition bonus track]
13. Speeding Through the Bright Lights [deluxe edition bonus track]
14. The Golden Age [deluxe edition bonus track]

Added: November 11th 2014
Reviewer: Dean Pedley
Related Link: Artist Website
Hits: 1790
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by