Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Cavalera Conspiracy: Pandemonium

Inflicted, Blunt Force Trauma and now with Pandemonium Cavalera Conspiracy continue to wind up the intensity. Guitarist/vocalist Max Cavalera(Soulfly, ex Seplutura), his brother and drummer Igor Cavalera(ex. Sepultura), guitar wizard Marco Rizzo(Soulfly, Solo artist) and bass player Nate Newton(Converge) have set out to record what is clearly Cavalera Conspiracy's heaviest album to date. Marco Rizzo is on fire once again with his energetic and crushing guitar work, and Igor Cavalera is also fired up with that all powerful electrifying drumming.

Pandemonium has much less groove and more wide open throttle, this is a mostly unrelenting Cavalera Consipracy on a brutal path of annihilation. Yet despite all the musical aggression featured on Pandemonium this latest release from Cavalera Conspiracy still retains an addictive quality.

It's hard to recognise the vocals of Max Cavalera at first on the explosive metal track "Babylonian Pandemonium" he sounds so utterly evil. You could describe this and many of the others songs on Pandemonium as thrash metal on steroids with a dose of hardcore. "Bonzai Kamikaze" is such a cool song name Cavalera Conspiracy explode out of the gate rocketing forward and when they dial it back approaching the conclusion it's just so potently catchy, "Scum" includes another such addictive slower passage and there's more of that elsewhere on the album. Cavalera Conspiracy show no mercy again with "I, Barbarian" and Max's barbaric vocals. As Pandemonium continues they leave a trail of metal carnage. Marco's guitar on "Not Losing The Edge" and "Father Of Hate" are more great examples of what a key member he is to this group. The bonus tracks are the hard hitting groove entwined "Deus Ex Machina" and then there is "Porra" where the Cavalera's once again cleverly incorporate a tribal sound with their heavy material.

You have to give Cavalera Consipracy credit for mixing it up with each album, mellowing they clearly are not Pandemonium is such a colossal sounding metal release.

Track Listing
1. Babylonian Pandemonium
2. Bonzai Kamikaze
3. Scum
4. I, Barbarian
5. Cramunhao
6. Apex Predator
7. Insurrection
8. Not Losing the Edge
9. Father of Hate
10. The Crucible
11. Deus Ex Machina
12. Porra

Added: October 25th 2014
Reviewer: Scott Jessup
Related Link: Band Website
Hits: 2526
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by