Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Rage Nucleaire: Black Storm of Violence

Look out, lovers of war metal, it's the sophomore effort by Montreal blast merchants Rage Nucleaire coming at you on Seasons of Mist records. Entitled Black Storm of Violence, the production is a notch clearer than on their explosive debut. When your music is as riddled with samples and sound effects as this, such an improvement is a major key to success. The vocals of Lord Worm (Cryptopsy) sound positively inhuman, warped and maniacal as the thoughts of a deranged robot sentience bent on destruction.

The music of Rage Nucleaire on the new record fits somewhere between Destroyer 666 and Aborym, but lacks the originality of either of those esteemed outfits. This is not to say that the quality is lacking. The songs are a bit more enunciated, as 'Annihilation Frenzy' goes for the throat in a similar vein as Impaled Nazarene.

The references to these other bands keep coming up because in Rage Nucleaire's music, you can pick up on a lot of stylistic nods in these bands' directions. Something about the delivery leaves you wanting, however. The ideas are there, executed crisply and at times as lethal as a shot of nerve gas into gasping lungs. 'Ritual Murder (and its attendant blessings)' is one such example of a song where all the moving parts fuse into a killer whole. The sample laden breakdowns lacerate into brutal blasts of pure black metal mayhem. In other spots the delivery gets a bit muddled and they lose the script a bit. Another strong one is 'The Deadfall Triptych', where you'll hear some martial, epic riffs leading the song down roads apart from simply one hyper-blasting cadence.

With Destroyer 666, Aborym, Impaled Nazarene, and even the new Mayhem record floating around, it is difficult for Rage Nucleaire to truly distinguish themselves on Black Storm of Violence. The good news is this band has enough talent and creativity that their next album could see them put it all together and blow the doors off the competition. Not a bad album by any stretch, it does however fail to truly rise above its own mushroom cloud.

Track Listing
1. Annihilation Frenzy
2. A Sino-American Chainsaw War
3. The Deadfall Triptych
4. Goddess Of Filth
5. Ritual Murder And Its Attendant Blessings
6. Le Grand Mal De Vivre
7. Revel In Bones
8. Black Storm of Violence

Added: October 22nd 2014
Reviewer: Nicholas Franco
Related Link: Band Facebook Page
Hits: 2059
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by