Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Fugitive: In Transit

In Transit by the Wirral, England outfit Fugitive was actually released back in 2008, however with the band gearing up for another crack at the studio, now seems as good a time as any to have a look at what they're are all about.

So In Transit may well be six or so years old, but if I told you it was 26 years old, you'd readily believe me, for this is solidly 80s melodic rock with an eye on the good times and penchant for parties. Vocally, singer Mikee sits somewhere between Great White's Jack Russell and Tyketto's Danny Vaughn (no bad place to be), while in terms of guitar work, everything from Skid Row to Poison, Extreme to a little bit of AC/DC and a host of UK AOR hopefuls is touched on along with a more expected slice of sleaze. An equally vintage keyboard sound keeps the retro feel alive and well, although interestingly some of the backing vocals allude to the fact In Transit actually came to a stop sometime after the Sunset's heyday; a few of the harmonies having an unexpected Alice In Chains flavour.

A perfunctory production adds to the days gone by vibe as do the stereotypical lyrics of love lives and dead end jobs and yet it's hard not to get involved with the sounds this band specialise in. "Alive" makes for a strong introduction, swaggering and strutting, "Every Drop Of Rain" adds a shot of Extreme synth-brass to a Nuno Bettencourt like riff, showing a little more depth as it does so. While "Saturday Everyday" brings a little less sleazy grime and a whole lot more urgency. However where this selection of songs do begin to let themselves down is by not knowing when they've outstayed their welcome; a tendency to take three minute ideas and run them for four or five, blunting the effect, especially the more time you spend with them. However guitarist Ranko certainly knows what he's about, a selection of tricks supplemented neatly by skilful lead breaks such as the fluid intro to "Temptation" and dextrous fretwork of "Janie", adding undoubted class.

When it's all said and done, Fugitive may have limited their appeal back in 2008 by releasing an album that was decidedly out of step with the times. However with a resurgence in the good time music the 80s specialised in, their upcoming platter may find a wider audience. A short EP, Fuelled & Ready, released earlier this year shows the band have taken huge steps since this release and if they can hit the heights it suggests, the upcoming full length album will be a sure fire winner!

Track Listing
1. Alive
2. Behind Closed Eyes
3. Look Inside Your Heart
4. Saturday Everyday
5. Overnight Sensation
6. Temptation
7. Janie
8. This Ain't Love
9. Friday 13th
10. Every Drop Of Rain
11. Wings
12. Party

Added: October 19th 2014
Reviewer: Steven Reid
Related Link: Fugitive on facebook
Hits: 1792
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by