Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Caudal: Ascension

Ascension is the new release from instrumental space-rock trio Caudal, who are comprised of guitarist Aidan Baker, bassist Gareth Sweeney, and drummer Felipe Salazar. This is the follow-up to their 2013 debut Forever in Another World. Featuring just three long tracks, Ascension might test the patience of your average listener, but those into extended soundcapes that cross into prog, jazz, and drone, will no doubt find a lot to like here. The 20-minute opener "Uprise" features repetitive rhythms and some guitar noodling, and "Slow Bow" starts out as a more conventional type piece before morphing into Tangerine Dream style krautrock, with Baker's guitar textures breathing & expanding with each passing moment. "451s2" is the shortest track at just about 6-minutes, and possibly the creepiest, with menacing sounds eventually giving way to space rock rhythms, almost reminding of a long lost track from an old Hawkwind album. Overall, there's some interesting sounds going on here, though taken as a whole the album tends to meander a bit, but there's enough to recommend to anyone with a passing interest in instrumental space-rock.

Track Listing
1) Uprise
2) Slow Bow
3) 451s2

Added: October 14th 2014
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Band Facebook Page
Hits: 1595
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by