Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Pervy Perkin: Ink

Pervy Perkin are a young progressive metal band from Madrid that self-released their debut album Ink in March of 2014 and are making conscious efforts to promote it as far and wide as possible. A swift look at the timings of the songs suggests the task before us may be progtastic "Of Echoes and Revelations" comes in at 12:05, "Morphosis" at a huge 26:23, "Memories of Water" clocks in at 11:15 and "T.I.M.E. (Part 3: The Sign on the Wall)" is 20:54 of fun.

Mixed and mastered by David de la Fuente in Robin Groove Studios (wherever that is) the band which consists of - Carly Pajaron / drums, vocals, Dante / guitar, bass, vocals, Alvaro Luis / guitar, bass, Alex Macho / main vocals and Ugo Fellone / keys, acoustic guitar have made a hugely ambitious record which has obvious echoes of Transatlantic or Dream Theater and doesn't lose out at all by the comparisons. Despite the fairly stupid name Pervy Perkin have a real shot at becoming serious players because they clearly love and understand the progressive metal genre but aren't confined by its conventions. That said, you want time changes? Try the aforementioned "T.I.M.E. (Part 3: The Sign on the Wall)" which is very twisty indeed. Emotive guitar float your boat? The also aforementioned "Of Echoes and Reflections" ticks that particular box. All in all, this is the best, most audacious debut album I have heard all year.

Track Listing:
Disc 1
1. Opening Credits (Instrumental) (5:09)
2. Of Echoes and Reflections (12:05)
3. New Dawn (5:41)
4. The Tree in the Sky (Instrumental) (4:47)
5. Peanut Butterfly (Instrumental) (5:34)
6. The End of the Beggining (8:02)
7. Falling from Earth (5:42)
8. Morphosis (26:23)
a. Chapter I
b. Chapter II
Total time 73:23

Disc 2
1. Memories of the Water (11:15)
2. Asleep in a Wormhole (4:15)
3. Shades Under a City Lamppost (Instrumental) (5:53)
4. Far Away Crusade Defending the Colonies of Satellite A.T.L.A.S. (Instrumental) (4:03)
5. 3:11 A.M. (The Crystal Clock) (6:04)
6. S!urm (8:08)
7. T.I.M.E. (Part 3: The Sign on the Wall) (20:54)
a. Dear Francesca
b. Disrupted
c. The Decision
d. On an Inner Kind / Voices
e.The Time
f. What Lurks in a Mind
g. The Decision II
h. Coming... Home?
8. Epilogue (Instrumental) (3:52)

Added: October 14th 2014
Reviewer: Simon Bray
Related Link: Band Website
Hits: 1923
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by